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CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION
Penal Code §84852.01 - 4853

Disclaimer: This information is provided only as a guide and is based on court
process for Santa Cruz County. Nothing in this packet is intended as legal
advise. It is your responsibility to verify that you are completing the right
forms for your situation and following local procedure. If your case is in a
different county, you need to determine how the process is handled in that
county. We make no guarantees about the success of your case or the correctness
of the information provided herin.

WHAT IS A CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION?

A Certificate of Rehabilitation (“COR”) is a California court-order declaring that a person previously convicted of a
felony or misdemeanor has live[d] an upright, honest life, and is now rehabilitated. The purpose of the COR is to
restore civil and political rights of citizenship to ex-felons who have proved their rehabilitation.

IMPORTANT:

If you were released on Felony Probation or were convicted of a misdemeanor sex offense as specified in
Penal Code 290 and have successfully completed probation, you must petition the court for a Dismissal under
PC 1203.4 before applying for a Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon

Start by reading through the informational sheet provided by the Governor’s Office at
https://www.cdcr.ca.gov/boph/pardons.html (6/12/2019) this provides detailed information on who qualifies,
where to file, and what a pardon does and does not do. It also discusses the difference between a Certificate of
Rehabilitation and a Direct Pardon.

THE PROCESS

e Getting the forms: The forms are included in this packet. You can also find the forms online at
www.santacruzcourt.org or pick up the forms in the Criminal Department, Room 120.

0 You need the following three documents:
= Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation (Form 1)
= Notice of Filing Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon and Declaration of

Service (Form 2)
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= Certificate of Rehabilitation (Form 3)
e Fill out the Petition and Notice forms, but leave the date, time and department area blank on the Notice.
A court date will be set when your paperwork is filed.

Make Copies

e Make additional copies of your paperwork.

0 You will need at least three copies of the Notice (Form 2)

0 You will need at least one copy of the Petition (Form 1)
e Bring the original and copies to Room 120 to file. There is no fee to file this request.
e The Clerk will assign a date that is about 6 weeks away.

Give Notice

After you file your documents and get a court date you must notify the District Attorney and the Governor’s
Office at least 30 days before your court date. You do this by providing a copy of the Notice of Filing Petition
for Certificate of Rehabilitation to the:

Santa Cruz County District Attorney State of California
701 Ocean Street, Room 200 Governor’s Office
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 California State Capitol

Sacramento, CA 95814

If you have convictions from multiple counties, then you must notice the District Attorney in each county.
You will need to make additional copies for service.

You may give notice either by mail or in person.

e By Mail: Notice must be done by someone other than you who is at least 18 years old. The person
you ask should mail a one copy of the Notice (Form 2) to each agency that you must notify. Then
fill out the Affidavit of Service by Mail (page 2 of Form 2).

e InPerson: If the paperwork is being hand delivered, there is a space on page 3 of the form for the
office that is receiving to fill out. You may deliver a copy to each office yourself.

Page 2 of 3
Certificate of Rehabilitation: (08/13/2019)



SANTA CRUZ COUNTY LAW LIBRARY

701 Ocean Street, Rm. 070 Santa Cruz, CA 95060
831-420-2205 www.lawlibrary.org

After notice has been completed. The completed Affidavit(s) should be returned to Room 120 before your court
date.

What Happens After Notice

e Aninvestigation may be performed by the District Attorney’s office regarding the petitioner’s residence,
criminal record, conduct during the required rehabilitation period, and any other information deemed
necessary to make a determination on the Petition.

e You may hire an attorney to assist you, or you may be entitled to representation from the Public
Defender’s Office regardless of financial need. 61 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 181, Penal Code §4852.08

e Show up at your scheduled hearing. Bring the Certificate of Rehabilitation (Order) with you.

WHAT DO | DO AFTER THE HEARING?

If the judge grants your petition, the Certificate of Rehabilitation (order) will be signed and processed. The
court will then forward Certified Copies to the appropriate agencies.
If the judge denies your petition, there is nothing more to do.

GETTING ASSISTANCE:

Assistance may be available to you at one of the agencies listed below

For free help call the Department of Justice, Oakland Office (800) 952-5225 if calling from within California. Hours
of Operation are: 9am to 12pm and 1pm to 4pm. The following agencies, per Penal Code sections 4852.04 and
4852.08, should also provide you with help:

ADULT PROBATION DEPT. PusLIc DEFENDER’S OFFICE PAROLE OFFICER

303 Water Street 2103 N. Pacific Ave 909 Coleman Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 Santa Cruz, CA 95060 San Jose, CA 95110
Phone # 831-454-2150 Phone # 831-426-2656 Phone # 408-277-1821
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IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

Applicant’s County of Residence
In the Matter of the Application of
Court use only

Type Applicant’s Full Name — First, Middle, Last, and Suffix

Date of Birth

Month Day, Year

Cll Number

Criminal Case Number

List all applicable Criminal Numbers

PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND PARDON

Pursuant to Penal Code Sections 4852.01 and 4852.06

The above-named applicant hereby respectfully represents and shows that:

[ All felony convictions must be listed. If you have suffered more than three (3) felony convictions, attach additional sheets following the same format. ]

Most Recent Felony Convictions

On or about , | was convicted of the crime of ,
Month Day, Year Indicate crime and Penal Code Section

In the county of , California. My sentence for this offense was

[ Check all that apply ]

[0 Commitment to state prison or other state institution at

Name of institution or city where located

[J Probation with suspended sentence to state prison or other state institution;

[J Probation, after the sentencing proceedings were suspended.

Thereafter, on or about , | was;
Date released from custody

[ Discharged from state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence;

[] Released on parole, from which | was finally discharged on

Discharge date
[ Released from custody on probation after serving a jail sentence;
1 As a condition of my probation, | was released from custody after serving time in jail, and successfully

complete my probation on , and obtained relief under Penal Code
Date probation ended

section 1203.4 on

Date 1203.4 granted by the court

[J Felony conviction was reduced to a misdemeanor (Provide court information):

FORM 1 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.



Second Most Recent Felony Convictions

On or about , | was convicted of the crime of

Month Day, Year Indicate crime and Penal Code Section

In the county of , California. My sentence for this offense was

[ Check all that apply ]

[0 Commitment to state prison or other state institution at

Name of institution or city where located
I Probation with suspended sentence to state prison or other state institution;
[ Probation, after the sentencing proceedings were suspended.

Thereafter, on or about , | was;
Date released from custody

[ Discharged from state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence;

[ Released on parole, from which | was finally discharged on

Discharge date
[ Released from custody on probation after serving a jail sentence;

I As a condition of my probation, | was released from custody after serving time in jail, and successfully

Complete my probation on , and obtained relief under Penal Code
Date probation ended

Section 1203.4 on

Date 1203.4 granted by the court

[ Felony conviction was reduced to a misdemeanor (Provide court information):

Third Most Recent Felony Conviction

On or about , | was convicted of the crime of

Month Day, Year Indicate crime and Penal Code Section

In the county of , California. My sentence for this offense was:
[ Check all that apply ]

[0 Commitment to state prison or other state institution at

Name of institution or city where located
0 Probation with suspended sentence to state prison or other state institution;

[J Probation, after the sentencing proceedings were suspended.

Thereafter, on or about , | was;
Date released from custody

[ Discharged from state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence;

[] Released on parole, from which | was finally discharged on

Discharge date
[ Released from custody on probation after serving a jail sentence;

(1 As a condition of my probation, | was released from custody after serving time in jail, and successfully

complete my probation on , and obtained relief under Penal Code
Date probation ended

section 1203.4 on

Date 1203.4 granted by the court

[J Felony conviction was reduced to a misdemeanor (Provide court information):
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RESIDENCY HISTORY

| am now a resident of the State of California, and | have continuously resided in the State of California

from , to the present date.
Month Day, Year

APPLICANT’S DECLARATION

During the period of my rehabilitation, | have lived an honest and upright life, conducted myself with
sobriety and industry, and exhibited good moral character. | have conformed to and obeyed all the laws of
the land.(Pen. Code, § 4852.05.)

WHEREFORE, Your petitioner prays that the Court make its order and decree declaring that the
petitioner has been rehabilitated; and for a certificate of rehabilitation recommending that the Governor of
the State of California grant petitioner a full pardon; and that for such purpose, a time be appointed for the
hearing of the foregoing petition;, and that other and necessary proper orders may be made in the
premises.

Applicant’s Signature Month Day, Year

Applicant’s Street Address

Applicant’s City, State and ZIP Code

Applicant’s Driver License Number

Applicant’s Email Address

Applicant's Home Phone Number

Applicant’s Work Phone Number

Applicant’s Cell Phone Number

FORM 1 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.



FORM 1 INSTRUCTIONS
Obtain Your Criminal Records

To complete this form, you will need information regarding each of your felony convictions, including
the date of each conviction, the specific charge or charges for which you were convicted, the county
of the conviction, and the sentence that was given. In addition, you will need to know the date that
you were released from prison or jail and/or discharged from parole or probation.

This information may be obtained through the court in which the conviction(s) took place, or you may
obtain a copy of your state criminal record through the California Department of Justice. You may
only obtain your own records from the Department of Justice. Information regarding this request may
be obtained through the Office of the Attorney General website at
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/record-review. Regardless of the number of convictions, you will be
filing only a single petition.

Confirm Your Eligibility

You are ineligible for a certificate of rehabilitation if any of the following are true:

e You were convicted only of misdemeanors (other than sex offenses defined in Penal
Code section 290, which were subsequently expunged) (Pen. Code, §4852.01, (b).)

e You were convicted of specific sex crimes involving minor children as enumerated under
Penal Code sections 286, subdivision (c), 288, 288a, subdivision (c), 288.5, and 289,
subdivision (j). (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)

¢ You are serving mandatory life parole. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)
e You were sent to state prison under a death sentence. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)
e You are currently in military service. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)

Minimum Period of Rehabilitation

In order to be granted a certificate of rehabilitation you must satisfy a minimum period of
rehabilitation. In every case, you must have resided continuously for five years in this state prior to
filing the petition. (Pen. Code, § 4852.06) The period of rehabilitation begins to run upon your
discharge from custody or upon release on parole or probation, whichever is sooner. (Pen. Code, §
4852.03, (a).) The period of rehabilitation shall constitute five years residence in this state, plus a
period of time determined by the following rules:

e An additional four years in the case of any person convicted of violating Section 187
(murder), 209 (aggravated kidnapping), 219 (derailing or wrecking a train), 4500 (assault
with force likely to cause great bodily injury), or 12310 (use of explosives or destructive
devices causing death, mayhem, or great bodily injury) of the Penal Code, or subdivision
(a) of Section 1672 of the Military and Veterans Code (acting or failing to act so as to
cause another person’s death), or any other offense which carries a life sentence. (Pen.
Code, § 4852.03, (a)(1).)

e An additional five years in the case of any person convicted of any offense or attempted
offense for which sex offender registration is required pursuant to Penal Code 290,
except for convictions for violations of subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of Section 311.2
(possession or distribution of media depicting a minor engaging in sexual conduct), or of
Section 311.3 (sexual exploitation of a child), 311.10 (advertising obscene matter
depicting a minor engaging in sexual conduct), or 314 (indecent exposure). For those
convictions, two years shall be added to the five years imposed by this section. (Pen.
Code, § 4852.03, (a)(2).)

FORM 1 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.
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e An additional two years in the case of any person convicted of committing any offense
not listed above and which does not carry a life sentence. (Pen. Code, §4852.03, (a)(3).)

e Additionally, the trial court hearing your application for a certificate of rehabilitation may
add additional years if you served consecutive sentences. The amount of additional time
will not exceed the sum of the maximum penalties for all your crimes. (Pen. Code, §
4852.03, (a)(4).)

Felony Probation

If you were released on felony probation and successfully completed probation, you must obtain relief
under Penal Code Section 1203.4 before applying for a Certificate of Rehabilitation.

3. File Your Documents

o After completing the Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon, you must file it
with the superior court in the county in which you reside. (Pen. Code, § 4852.06.)

e You are entitled to be represented by an attorney of your own selection, or by the public
defender. (Pen. Code, § 4852.08.)

e You are entitled to receive assistance from all rehabilitative agencies including officers from
adult probation and parole, and for persons under the age of 30 years, from the Division of
Juvenile Facilities. (Pen. Code, § 4852.04)

e |tis unlawful for anyone, other than an attorney, to accept any fee, money or anything of
value for their services in representing you in this proceeding. (Pen. Code, § 4852.2.)

¢ You are not required to pay filing fees of any kind in connection with this proceeding. (Pen.
Code, § 4852.09.)

4. Notice of Filing

When the court sets a hearing date on your petition, you are required to give notice of that date at
least 30 days before the hearing. You must formally notify the District Attorney for each county in
which you have been convicted, the county in which the petition is filed, and the Governor's Office.
(Pen. Code, § 4852.07.) For more information on the notice requirements, please reference the
Notice of Filing of Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon.

5. After a Certificate of Rehabilitation is Issued

A certificate of rehabilitation is not an automatic pardon; it is only an automatic application for a
pardon. In the event that a certificate of rehabilitation is issued by a court, the certificate of
rehabilitation shall be reviewed by the Board of Parole Hearings within one year. Thereafter, the
Board shall issue a recommendation as to whether the Governor should pardon that individual. (Pen.
Code, § 4852.16, (b).)

FORM 1 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.



IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

Applicant’s County of Residence

In the Matter of the Application of
Court use only

Type Applicant’s Full Name - First, Middle, Last, and Suffix

Date of Birth

Month Day, Year
CII Number

Criminal Case Number

List all applicable Criminal Numbers

NOTICE OF FILING OF PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF

REHABILITATION PARDON
Pursuant to Penal Code Sections 4852.01 and 4852.06

To the Governor of the State of California:

District Attorney, County of ;
County of Residence
District Attorney, County of ;
Most recent felony in county of conviction, if different from County of Residence
District Attorney, County of ;
2" most recent felony in county of conviction, if applicable
District Attorney, County of ;

3™ most recent felony in county of conviction, if applicable

You and Each of You Will Please Take Notice That On the day of ;

Date you filed your Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon

The undersigned has filed a petition I the above-mentioned court or courts for a Certificate
of Rehabilitation and Pardon in accordance with the provision of Chapter 3.5, Title 6, Part 3
of the penal code of the state of California, and that said petition has, by said court, been

set for a hearing on the day of the to commence
Day of Hearing Month, Year

at 0 a.m. OO p.m., of said day, or as soon as the matter can be heard, in
Time of hearing

its courtroom, department at the courthouse in the city of
Department

, county of , state of California.
City where hearing will be held County where hearing will be held

Applicant’s Signature Month, day, Year

Applicant’s Street Address

Applicant’s City, State and ZIP Code
FORM 2 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.



AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE BY MAIL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

City of , County of

I, being first duly sworn, deposes and says:

I am a citizen of the United States, am over the age of 18 years, and am not a party to the

above-entitled proceedings. I am a resident of the County of

County of Residence
State of California.

My Oresidence Obusiness address is:

Street Address

City, State and ZIP Code

On the day of , I served the attached Notice to
Day of the Month Month, Year

each person listed below:

Full Name-First Middle and Suffix Street Address County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix Street Address County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix Street Address County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix Street Address County

By placing a copy of this Notice in a sealed envelope and mailing it first class, postage
pre-paid to each person listed above. There is a delivery service by United States mail at

each of the places so addressed, or there is a regular communication by mail between the

place of mailing and each of the places so addressed.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of
Day of the Month Month, Year
Full Name of Notary Public - TYPED or PRINTED Notary Public - Signature
In and for the City of , County of , California.

FORM 2 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.



NOTICE OF SERVICE IN PERSON

Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this day of
Day of the Month Month, Year
Governor’s Office

State Capitol
Legal Affairs Division

Full Name of Governor’s staff — TYPED or PRINTED Governor’s staff - SIGNATURE
Governor's staff - TITLE Month Day, Year
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this day of
Day of the Month Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff - TYPED or PRINTED District Attorney staff - SIGNATURE
County District Attorney Month Day, Year
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this day of
Day of the Month Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff - TYPED or PRINTED District Attorney staff - SIGNATURE
County District Attorney Month Day, Year
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this day of
Day of the Month Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff - TYPED or PRINTED District Attorney staff - SIGNATURE
County District Attorney Month Day, Year
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this day of
Day of the Month Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff - TYPED or PRINTED District Attorney staff - SIGNATURE
County District Attorney Month Day, Year

FORM 2 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.



FORM 2 INSTRUCTIONS

1. After completing this Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon,
Penal Code section 4852.07 requires that you distribute one (1) copy to:

[0 the Governor of California;

0  the District Attorney in your county of residence where you filed your Petition for
Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon, and;

O the District Attorney of each county in which you were convicted of a felony.

2. This Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon must be served to
all of these individuals at least thirty days prior to the date set for your hearing. (Pen.
Code, § 4852.07.) You may do so by using one or both of the following forms:

e Affidavit of Service by Mail (Form 2A) - If you intend to have a Notary Public
mail a copy of the Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon,
you may do so by having the Notary Public complete and sign the Affidavit of
Service by Mail. Mailing procedures are outlined in the Affidavit.

e Notice of Service in Person (Form 2B) - If you intend to hand-deliver a copy, you
may do so by using this form and having each individual sign in the appropriate
space indicating that a copy of the Notice of Filing for Certificate of
Rehabilitation and Pardon was received.

3. After you have served each individual, personally or by mail, file this completed Notice
of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon and the Affidavit of Service
by Mail or Notice of Service in Person, or both, with the Superior Court in the county
in which you reside.

FORM 2 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.



IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

Applicant’s County of Residence

In the Matter of the Application of
Court use only

Type Applicant’s Full Name — First, Middle, Last, and Suffix
Certificate Number

Date of Birth

Month Day, Year
CIl Number

Criminal Case
Number

List all applicable Criminal Numbers

CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION

Pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.13

The petition of , presently residing
Type Applicant’s Full Name — First, Middle, Last, and Suffix

at , heretofore filed, praying for
Type Applicant’s Street Address, City, State, and Zip Code

a Certificate of Rehabilitation pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 3.5, Title 6 of Part 3 of the Penal Code

of the State of California, came on regularly for hearing on this day
Day of the Month

of and proof having been made to the
Month, Year

satisfaction of the Court that notice of the time of hearing has been regularly given as required by law; and from
satisfactory proof taken at said hearing the Court finds that all allegations of said petition are true, and that the
required period of rehabilitation has elapsed since petitioner's date of discharge from custody due to completion
of the term to which the petitioner was sentenced, or upon the release on parole or probation on

, that, where appropriate, petitioner has obtained relief pursuant to

Month, Day, Year
Penal Code Section 1203.4, and that petitioner has demonstrated by the course of conduct his/her rehabilitation
and fitness to exercise all the civil and political rights of citizenship (except as provided in Penal Code

Section 485.15); and that petitioner has been , time convicted of a felony;
Total Number of Felony Convictions

WHEREFORE, It Is Ordered, Adjudged, and Decreed, And this court does hereby order, adjudge, and
decree the petitioner has been rehabilitated and is fit to exercise all the civil and political rights of citizenship
(except as provided in Penal Code Section 4852.15), and by virtue thereof, this court recommends that the
Governor of the State of California grant a full pardon to said petitioner.

Done in open court this day of
Day of the Month Month, Year

Judge of said Superior Court — TYPED or PRINTED Judge of said Superior Court — SIGNATURE

FORM 3 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.
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