SANTA CRUZ COUNTY LAW LIBRARY

701 Ocean Street, Rm. 070 Santa Cruz, CA 95060 831-420-2205 <u>www.lawlibrary.org</u>

CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION Penal Code §§4852.01 - 4853

DISCLAIMER: This information is provided only as a guide and is based on court process for Santa Cruz County. Nothing in this packet is intended as legal advice. It is your responsibility to verify that you are filing the right forms for your situation and following local procedure. If your case is in a different county, you will need to determine how the process is handled in that county. We make no guarantees about the success of your case or the correctness of the information provided herein.

WHAT IS A CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION?

A **Certificate of Rehabilitation** ("COR") is a California court-order declaring that a person previously convicted of a felony and or certain misdemeanors has lived an upright, honest life, and is now rehabilitated. The purpose of the COR is to restore civil and political rights of citizenship to ex-felons who have proved their **rehabilitation**.

Basic information on the Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon process is online at https://www.gov.ca.gov/bph/clemency/ and https://www.gov.ca.gov/pardons/

WHO QUALIFIES?

Generally, someone is eligible if they have a conviction on their record of:

- A felony or
- A felony sex offense listed in Penal Code 290 AND the conviction has been expunged, or
- A misdemeanor sex offense listed in Penal Code 290 AND the conviction has been expunged.

Additionally, you must:

• Have resided in California for at least 5 years, and

- Meet the required rehabilitation time of between 2 and 5 years following the release from custody, probation, or parole.
- A certificate of rehabilitation issued on or after July 1, 2021, does not terminate the obligation to register as a sex offender. Relief must be requested under Penal Code section 290.5.

Penal Code 4582 et seq. goes into more detail about who is eligible and who is ineligible. These codes can be found online at <u>https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/home.xhtml</u>

THE PROCESS

You file your request for the Certificate of Rehabilitation in the county where you currently reside, even if this is not where the conviction happened.

- Getting the forms: The forms are included in this packet. You can also find the forms online at <u>www.santacruzcourt.org or https://www.cdcr.ca.gov/bph/clemency/.</u>
 - You need the following three documents:
 - Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation (Form 1)
 - Notice of Filing Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon and Declaration of Service (Form 2)
 - Certificate of Rehabilitation (Form 3)
- Fill out the Petition and Notice forms, but leave the date, time and department area blank on the Notice. A court date will be set when your paperwork is filed.

Make Copies

- Make additional copies of your paperwork.
 - You will need at least three copies of the Notice (Form 2)
 - You will need at least one copy of the Petition (Form 1)
- Bring the original and copies to Room 120 to file. There is no fee to file this request.
- The Clerk will assign a date that is about 6 weeks away.

SANTA CRUZ COUNTY LAW LIBRARY

701 Ocean Street, Rm. 070 Santa Cruz, CA 95060 831-420-2205 www.lawlibrary.org

Give Notice

After you file your documents and get a court date you must notify the District Attorney where you live and, if different, where each conviction occurred, and the Governor's Office *at least* **30 days before your court date**. You do this by providing a copy of the Notice of Filing Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation to the:

For the District Attorney's Office this may be done in person or by mail. Remember, you may need to serve multiple DA's offices.

Santa Cruz County District Attorney 701 Ocean Street, Room 200 Santa Cruz, CA 95060

The Governor's Office now only accepts service by email at <u>pardons@gov.ca.gov</u> or by mail at: Office of the Governor ATTN: Legal Affairs/Parole and Clemency 1021 O Street, Suite 9000 Sacramento, CA 95814

By mail: Notice must be done by someone other than you who is at least 18 years old. The person you ask should mail a one copy of the Notice (Form 2) to each agency that you must notify. Then fill out the Affidavit of Service by Mail (page 2 of Form 2). This form needs to be notarized.

In Person: If the paperwork is being hand delivered, there is a space on page 3 of the form for the office that is receiving to fill out. You may deliver a copy to each office yourself. Remember that this will not work for the Governor's Office.

By email to the Governor's Office ONLY: The form does not provide a space to indicate that the notice was emailed. You could specify the email address on the Affidavit of Service by Mail.

After notice has been completed. The completed Affidavit(s) should be returned to Room 120 before your court date.

831-420-2205 www.lawlibrary.org

What Happens After Notice

- An investigation may be performed by the District Attorney's office regarding the petitioner's residence, criminal record, conduct during the required rehabilitation period, and any other information deemed necessary to make a determination on the Petition.
- You may hire an attorney to assist you, or you may be entitled to representation from the Public Defender's Office regardless of financial need. 61 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 181, Penal Code §4852.08
- Show up at your scheduled hearing. Bring the Certificate of Rehabilitation (Order) with you.

What do I do after the hearing?

If the judge grants your petition, the Certificate of Rehabilitation (order) will be signed and processed. The court will then forward Certified Copies to the appropriate agencies. If the judge denies your petition, there is nothing more to do.

GETTING ASSISTANCE:

Public Defender's Office 420 May St. Santa Cruz, CA 95060 Phone 831-454-5300

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF _____

Type Applicant's Full Name – First, Middle, Last, and Suffix

Date of Birth_____

Month Day, Year

CII Number_____

Criminal Case Number_____

List all applicable Criminal Numbers

PETITION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REHABILITATION AND PARDON

Pursuant to Penal Code Sections 4852.01 and 4852.06

The above-named applicant hereby respectfully represents and shows that:

FELONY HISTORY

[All felony convictions must be listed. If you have suffered more than three (3) felony convictions, attach additional sheets following the same format.]

Most Recent Felony Convictions

On or about	, I was convicted of the crime of, Month Day, Year Indicate crime and Penal Code Section
	Month Day, Year Indicate crime and Penal Code Section
In the county of	, California. My sentence for this offense was
	[Check all that apply]
	to state prison or other state institution at
□ Probation with s	suspended sentence to state prison or other state institution;
□ Probation, after	the sentencing proceedings were suspended.
Thereafter, on or a	bout, I was; Date released from custody
□ Discharged from	n state prison or other state institution after completing my sentence;
□ Released on pa	role, from which I was finally discharged on; Discharge date
□ Released from	custody on probation after serving a jail sentence;
\Box As a condition of	f my probation, I was released from custody after serving time in jail, and successfully
	bation on, and obtained relief under Penal Code
section 1203.4	DN Date 1203.4 granted by the court
Felony conviction	on was reduced to a misdemeanor (Provide court information):;

Court use only

Applicant's County of Residence

Second Most Recent Felony Convictions

On or about	, I was convicted of the crime of,
Month Day, Y	Year Indicate crime and Penal Code Section
In the county of	, California. My sentence for this offense was
	[Check all that apply]
$\hfill\square$ Commitment to state μ	prison or other state institution at
Drahation with avanandas	Name of institution or city where located
	I sentence to state prison or other state institution;
	ncing proceedings were suspended.
Thereafter, on or about	, I was; Date released from custody
□ Discharged from state pris	son or other state institution after completing my sentence;
\Box Released on parole, from	which I was finally discharged on;
□ Released from custody or	Discharge date n probation after serving a jail sentence;
\Box As a condition of my prob	ation, I was released from custody after serving time in jail, and successfully
Complete my probation of	n, and obtained relief under Penal Code
Section 1203.4 on	Date probation ended
	Date 1203.4 granted by the court
□ Felony conviction was rec	luced to a misdemeanor (Provide court information):;
<u>Th</u>	ird Most Recent Felony Conviction
	, I was convicted of the crime of,
Month Day, Y	ear Indicate crime and Penal Code Section, California. My sentence for this offense was:
	[Check all that apply]
Commitment to state	prison or other state institution at
Probation with suspended	Name of institution or city where located I sentence to state prison or other state institution;
	ncing proceedings were suspended.
	, I was; Date released from custody
	Date released from custody
□ Discharged from state pris	son or other state institution after completing my sentence;
\Box Released on parole, from	which I was finally discharged on; Discharge date
\Box Released from custody or	probation after serving a jail sentence;
□ As a condition of my prob	ation, I was released from custody after serving time in jail, and successfully
complete my probation or	, and obtained relief under Penal Code
	Date probation ended
	Date 1203.4 granted by the court
□ Felony conviction was rec	luced to a misdemeanor (Provide court information):;

RESIDENCY HISTORY

I am now a resident of the State of California, and I have continuously resided in the State of California

from ______, to the present date.

Month Day, Year

APPLICANT'S DECLARATION

During the period of my rehabilitation, I have lived an honest and upright life, conducted myself with sobriety and industry, and exhibited good moral character. I have conformed to and obeyed all the laws of the land.(Pen. Code, § 4852.05.)

WHEREFORE, Your petitioner prays that the Court make its order and decree declaring that the petitioner has been rehabilitated; and for a certificate of rehabilitation recommending that the Governor of the State of California grant petitioner a full pardon; and that for such purpose, a time be appointed for the hearing of the foregoing petition; and that other and necessary proper orders may be made in the premises.

Applicant's Signature

Month Day, Year

Applicant's Street Address

Applicant's City, State and ZIP Code

Applicant's Driver License Number

Applicant's Email Address

Applicant's Home Phone Number

Applicant's Work Phone Number

Applicant's Cell Phone Number

FORM 1 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.

1. Obtain Your Criminal Records

To complete this form, you will need information regarding each of your felony convictions, including the date of each conviction, the specific charge or charges for which you were convicted, the county of the conviction, and the sentence that was given. In addition, you will need to know the date that you were released from prison or jail and/or discharged from parole or probation.

This information may be obtained through the court in which the conviction(s) took place, or you may obtain a copy of your state criminal record through the California Department of Justice. You may only obtain your own records from the Department of Justice. Information regarding this request may Office be obtained through the of the Attorney General website at https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/record-review. Regardless of the number of convictions, you will be filing only a single petition.

2. Confirm Your Eligibility

You are *ineligible* for a certificate of rehabilitation if any of the following are true:

- You were convicted only of misdemeanors (other than sex offenses defined in Penal Code section 290, which were subsequently expunged) (Pen. Code, §4852.01, (b).)
- You were convicted of specific sex crimes involving minor children as enumerated under Penal Code sections 286, subdivision (c), 288, 288a, subdivision (c), 288.5, and 289, subdivision (j). (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)
- You are serving mandatory life parole. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)
- You were sent to state prison under a death sentence. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)
- You are currently in military service. (Pen. Code, § 4852.01, (c).)

Minimum Period of Rehabilitation

In order to be granted a certificate of rehabilitation you must satisfy a minimum period of rehabilitation. In every case, you must have resided continuously for **five** years in this state prior to filing the petition. (Pen. Code, § 4852.06) The period of rehabilitation begins to run upon your discharge from custody or upon release on parole or probation, whichever is sooner. (Pen. Code, § 4852.03, (a).) The period of rehabilitation shall constitute **five** years residence in this state, **plus** a period of time determined by the following rules:

- An additional four years in the case of any person convicted of violating Section 187 (murder), 209 (aggravated kidnapping), 219 (derailing or wrecking a train), 4500 (assault with force likely to cause great bodily injury), or 12310 (use of explosives or destructive devices causing death, mayhem, or great bodily injury) of the Penal Code, or subdivision (a) of Section 1672 of the Military and Veterans Code (acting or failing to act so as to cause another person's death), or any other offense which carries a life sentence. (Pen. Code, § 4852.03, (a)(1).)
- An additional five years in the case of any person convicted of any offense or attempted offense for which sex offender registration is required pursuant to Penal Code 290, except for convictions for violations of subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of Section 311.2 (possession or distribution of media depicting a minor engaging in sexual conduct), or of Section 311.3 (sexual exploitation of a child), 311.10 (advertising obscene matter depicting a minor engaging in sexual conduct), or 314 (indecent exposure). For those convictions, two years shall be added to the five years imposed by this section. (Pen. Code, § 4852.03, (a)(2).)

- An additional **two** years in the case of any person convicted of committing any offense not listed above and which does not carry a life sentence. (Pen. Code, §4852.03, (a)(3).)
- Additionally, the trial court hearing your application for a certificate of rehabilitation may add additional years if you served consecutive sentences. The amount of additional time will not exceed the sum of the maximum penalties for all your crimes. (Pen. Code, § 4852.03, (a)(4).)

Felony Probation

If you were released on felony probation and successfully completed probation, you must obtain relief under Penal Code Section 1203.4 before applying for a Certificate of Rehabilitation.

3. File Your Documents

- After completing the *Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon*, you must file it with the superior court in the county in which you reside. (Pen. Code, § 4852.06.)
- You are entitled to be represented by an attorney of your own selection, or by the public defender. (Pen. Code, § 4852.08.)
- You are entitled to receive assistance from all rehabilitative agencies including officers from adult probation and parole, and for persons under the age of 30 years, from the Division of Juvenile Facilities. (Pen. Code, § 4852.04)
- It is unlawful for anyone, other than an attorney, to accept any fee, money or anything of value for their services in representing you in this proceeding. (Pen. Code, § 4852.2.)
- You are not required to pay filing fees of any kind in connection with this proceeding. (Pen. Code, § 4852.09.)

4. Notice of Filing

When the court sets a hearing date on your petition, you are required to give notice of that date at least 30 days before the hearing. You must formally notify the District Attorney for each county in which you have been convicted, the county in which the petition is filed, and the Governor's Office. (Pen. Code, § 4852.07.) For more information on the notice requirements, please reference the *Notice of Filing of Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon.*

5. After a Certificate of Rehabilitation is Issued

A certificate of rehabilitation is not an automatic pardon; it is only an automatic application for a pardon. In the event that a certificate of rehabilitation is issued by a court, the certificate of rehabilitation shall be reviewed by the Board of Parole Hearings within one year. Thereafter, the Board shall issue a recommendation as to whether the Governor should pardon that individual. (Pen. Code, § 4852.16, (b).)

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF

In the Matter of the Application of

Applicant's County of Residence

	Court use only
Type Applicant's Full Name – First, Middle, Last, and Suffix	
Date of Birth	
Month Day, Year	
CII Number	
Criminal Case Number	
List all applicable Criminal Numbers	
NOTICE OF FILING OF PETITION REHABILITATION P Pursuant to Penal Code Sections 4852	ARDON
To the Governor of the State of California:	
District Attorney, County of	;
County of Re District Attorney, County of	sidence
	on, if different from <i>County of Residence</i>
District Attorney, County of	;
2 nd most recent felony in count District Attorney, County of	
3 rd most recent felony in count	y of conviction, if applicable
You and Each of You Will Please Take Notice That On the you fate you f	he day of; iled your Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon
The undersigned has filed a petition I the above-menti	oned court or courts for a Certificate
of Rehabilitation and Pardon in accordance with the pro	ovision of Chapter 3.5, Title 6, Part 3
of the penal code of the state of California, and that sa	id petition has, by said court, been
set for a hearing on the day of the _	to commence
Day of Hearing	Month, Year
at □ a.m. □ p.m., of said day, or as so Time of hearing	oon as the matter can be heard, in
its courtroom, department	at the courthouse in the city of
Department	
, county of City where hearing will be held County where hearing	
Applicant's Signature	Month, day, Year
Applicant's Street Address	

Applicant's City, State and ZIP Code

FORM 2 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE BY MAIL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

City of	, County of	
I,	being first duly	sworn, deposes and says:
I am a citizen of the United States, a	am over the age of 18 years,	and am not a party to the
above-entitled proceedings. I am a r	esident of the County of	
State of California.		County of Residence
My □residence □business address is	5:	
	Street	Address
	City, State a	and ZIP Code
On the day of _	, I serve	d the attached Notice to
Day of the Month	Month, Year	
each person listed below:		
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix	Street Address	County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix	Street Address	County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix	Street Address	County
Full Name-First Middle and Suffix	Street Address	County

By placing a copy of this Notice in a sealed envelope and mailing it first class, postage pre-paid to each person listed above. There is a delivery service by United States mail at each of the places so addressed, or there is a regular communication by mail between the place of mailing and each of the places so addressed.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _	pefore me this		day of	
	Day of the Month	,	Month, Year	
Full Name of Notary Public – TYPED or PRINTED		Notary Publi	c - Signature	
In and for the City of	, County of		, California.	

FORM 2 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.

NOTICE OF SERVICE IN PERSON

Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of	
	Day of the Month	Month, Year
Governor's Off State Capitol Legal Affairs Divi		
Full Name of Governor's staff – TYPED or PRINTED	Governor's staff - SIGNA	TURE
Governor's staff - TITLE	Month Day, Year	
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of Day of the Month	Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff – TYPED or PRINTED	District Attorney staff - S	IGNATURE
County District Attorney	Month Day, Year	
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of Day of the Month	Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff – TYPED or PRINTED	District Attorney staff - S	IGNATURE
County District Attorney	Month Day, Year	
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of Day of the Month	Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff – TYPED or PRINTED	District Attorney staff - S	IGNATURE
County District Attorney	Month Day, Year	
Receipt of copy of this Notice is hereby admitted this	day of Day of the Month	Month, Year
Full Name of District Attorney staff – TYPED or PRINTED	District Attorney staff - S	IGNATURE
County District Attorney	Month Day, Year	

FORM 2 (Revised 1/02/2019) This form was prepared by the Board of Parole Hearings pursuant to Penal Code Section 4852.18.

- 1. After completing this **Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon**, Penal Code section 4852.07 requires that you distribute one (1) copy to:
 - □ the Governor of California;
 - □ the District Attorney in your county of residence where you filed your **Petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon**, and;
 - \Box the District Attorney of each county in which you were convicted of a felony.
- This Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon must be served to all of these individuals at least thirty days prior to the date set for your hearing. (Pen. Code, § 4852.07.) You may do so by using one or both of the following forms:
 - Affidavit of Service by Mail (Form 2A) If you intend to have a Notary Public mail a copy of the Notice of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon, you may do so by having the Notary Public complete and sign the Affidavit of Service by Mail. Mailing procedures are outlined in the Affidavit.
 - Notice of Service in Person (Form 2B) If you intend to hand-deliver a copy, you
 may do so by using this form and having each individual sign in the appropriate
 space indicating that a copy of the Notice of Filing for Certificate of
 Rehabilitation and Pardon was received.
- 3. After you have served each individual, personally or by mail, file this completed **Notice** of Filing for Certificate of Rehabilitation and Pardon and the Affidavit of Service by Mail or Notice of Service in Person, or both, with the Superior Court in the county in which you reside.

N AND FOR THE COUNTY OF	ant's County of Residence
In the Matter of the Application of	
Type Applicant's Full Name – First, Middle, Last, and Suffix	Court use only
Certificate Number	
Date of Birth Month Day, Year	-
CII Number	
Criminal Case	-
Number List all applicable Criminal Numbers	-
CERTIFICATE OF REHABIL	ITATION
Pursuant to Penal Code Section 48	
ne petition of	, presently residing
Type Applicant's Full Name – First, Middle, Last, and Suffix	
	, heretofore filed, praying for
Type Applicant's Street Address, City, State, and Zip Code	
Certificate of Rehabilitation pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 3.5	5, Title 6 of Part 3 of the Penal Code
the State of California, came on regularly for hearing on this	-
	Day of the Month
Month, Year	and proof having been made to the
atisfaction of the Court that notice of the time of hearing has been reg	
atisfactory proof taken at said hearing the Court finds that all allegation	
quired period of rehabilitation has elapsed since petitioner's date of	discharge from custody due to completion
the term to which the petitioner was sentenced, or upon the release	on parole or probation on
, that, where appropriate, Month, Day, Year	petitioner has obtained relief pursuant to
enal Code Section 1203.4, and that petitioner has demonstrated by t	he course of conduct his/her rehabilitation
nd fitness to exercise all the civil and political rights of citizenship (ex	cept as provided in Penal Code
ection 485.15); and that petitioner has been	, time convicted of a felony;
WHEREFORE, It Is Ordered, Adjudged, and Decreed, And this acree the petitioner has been rehabilitated and is fit to exercise all xcept as provided in Penal Code Section 4852.15), and by virtue overnor of the State of California grant a full pardon to said petitioned	I the civil and political rights of citizenshi thereof, this court recommends that the
Done in open court this day of	
Day of the Month	Month, Year