

Superior Court of California, County of Santa Cruz

Justice With Dignity and Respect

Why is Your Bail or Fine So Much?

The cost of your ticket includes the base bail/fine along with the penalties and assessments required to be collected by law. If you are convicted of more than one charge, the penalties and assessments may be added for each convicted violation.

What is a Penalty Assessment?

It is an amount added to the base bail/fine amount on infraction, misdemeanor and felony offenses. This amount is set by the California State Legislature. The current penalty assessment is \$29. The penalty assessments are calculated on every \$10, or portion of \$10 of your base bail/fine.

The \$29 assessment is calculated as follows:

Penal Code 1464 State Penalty Fund	\$10.00
Govt. Code 70372(a) State Court Construction Fund	\$ 5.00
Govt. Code 76104.6/76104.7 DNA Identification Fund	\$ 5.00
Govt. Code 76000(e) County Penalty Fund	\$ 7.00
Govt. Code 76000.5 Emergency Medical Services	\$ 2.00

What Other Assessments Are Added?

- \$40 court operations fee is added for <u>each</u> infraction, misdemeanor, or felony violation resulting in a conviction pursuant to Penal Code 1465.8
- \$30 assessment for <u>each</u> convicted misdemeanor or felony violation and \$35 for <u>each</u> convicted infraction violation pursuant to Government Code 70373
- A 20% State Surcharge imposed on the base bail/fine amount. This 20% may NOT be used to calculate the penalty
 assessment for each \$10 of the fine.
- If your conviction requires the DMV to keep track of the charges for priors, a \$10 fee is added. Vehicle Code 40508.6(a)

Example Calculation for Vehicle Code Violation:

•	Base/bail fine amount	\$	35.00	
	Additional Penalties based on	4 \$10	incremer	nts
•	Additional penalties	\$	116.00	
•	Surcharge 20% of base bail/fine	\$	7.00	
•	Conviction assessment	\$	35.00	
•	Court Operations assessment	\$	40.00	
•	DMV	\$	10.00	

(only assessed when priors are tracked)

Total Amount \$ 243.00

Where the money goes:

- Court automation 2%, See backside for distribution to local cities and county. Penal Code 1463.002
- See breakdown above
- State General Fund
- State Court building construction and maintenance fund
- To fund trial court operations
- To Court

Traffic School

The Court charges an Administrative Fee to attend Traffic School in addition to the total bail amount charged for your ticket. This does not include the cost of attending a specific traffic school, which is a separate fee paid directly to the selected school for their services. This fee is currently \$52.

Proof of Correction

When submitting proof of correction on a correctable violation, the fee is \$25 for **each** correctable violation for which you were cited.

The Court's Responsibility

The Superior Court is required to follow the laws passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor. The penalties and assessments listed come from such laws. The Superior Court is not responsible for creating those laws. If you are concerned with the amount of your fine, contact your state legislator.



Superior Court of California, County of Santa Cruz

Justice With Dignity and Respect

Base Bail/Fine Distribution per Penal Code 1463.002

Penal Code section 1463.002 sets a schedule for distribution of the base bail/fine for each violation issued within a particular jurisdiction. A city and county may enter into a mutual agreement adjusting the percentages established by P.C. 1463.002. Below is the distribution schedule in effect in Santa Cruz County. The amounts below are taken after the 2% is distributed to the court automation fund.

Capitola:

City of Capitola 79% County of Santa Cruz 21%

Santa Cruz County:

County of Santa Cruz 100%

City of Santa Cruz:

City of Santa Cruz 77% County of Santa Cruz 23%

Scotts Valley:

City of Scotts Valley 78% County of Santa Cruz 22%

Watsonville:

City of Watsonville 79% County of Santa Cruz 21%

University of California Santa Cruz:

County of Santa Cruz 100%

Example of Distribution of Base Bail/Fine:

Base bail \$35.00
Court Automation Fund: \$.70
City of Santa Cruz \$26.41
County of Santa Cruz \$7.89